Cookie consent

AstroBin saves small pieces of text information (cookies) on your device in order to deliver better content and for statistical purposes. You can disable the usage of cookies by changing the settings of your browser. By browsing AstroBin without changing the browser settings, you grant us permission to store that information on your device.

I agree
Uranus and Four of its Moons, 


            Steven Bellavia

Uranus and Four of its Moons

Technical card

Resolution: 1179x868

Date:Dec. 7, 2018

Time: 10:00

Data source: Backyard


From upper left to lower right: Titania, Ariel, Umbriel, Oberon

Uranus has 27 moons, all of which are named after characters from the works of William Shakespeare and Alexander Pope. The moons are divided into three groups: thirteen inner moons, nine irregular moons, and the five major moons. The five major moons, in size order, from largest to smallest: Titania, Oberon, Umbriel, Ariel and Miranda. Four of these five are visible with "amateur" telescopes. Miranda is magnitude 16.5, so perhaps visible in an "amateur" 25-inch telescope.
I find it amazing that William Herschel was able to see (and discover) Titania and Oberon, in 1787, only 6 years after he discovered the planet itself, using his home-built 18.8-inch telescope.
Umbriel and Ariel were not discovered for another 64 years by William Lassell in 1851. Miranda was discovered in 1948, by Gerard Kuiper.



Steven Bellavia
License: None (All rights reserved)


Uranus and Four of its Moons, 


            Steven Bellavia