ZWO 183MC gain settings [Deep Sky] Acquisition techniques · Allan · ... · 9 · 1380 · 0

seriousfun 0.00
I note that there is a wide range of gain settings used in image aquisition on Astrobin.  I am wondering what the rationale is behind choosing a gain setting to use. I would like to pick one setting and stick with it so that I can have a small reusable calibration library.  Any advice would be very helpful.

Cheers.
MikeF29 11.33
·  1 like
I will preface this comment by noting that I am a novice imager, not an expert...

But I use this camera and my experience has been that unity gain (111) works great.  I have also used a gain of 53 in an attempt to get greater dynamic range but have not noticed much of a difference.  I once tried -0- gain to get the maximum DR and ended up with banding that ruined the results of that imaging session.

To expand a little on the use of this camera, I encourage you to look on Cloudy Nights for some great information about using it.  There are some very smart and very accomplished imagers that have posted great information there that is invaluable.

One specific example I will toss out there is that there are some tables of ideal exposure times for the 183 that take into account sky brightness, gain, and whether one is contemplating broadband or NB imaging.

Really great stuff.
seriousfun 0.00
Thanks for the input Mike. I have looked at and admired your images. I note that you use gain of 139 in a lot of them and I am currently experimenting with that myself purely on the basis of your results but I will give cloudy a nights a thorough look thru as well. I find that there are so many conflicting pieces of advice  from various sources that I wonder if there is any "right" setting at all.
astropilch 1.20
Hi
I`m using the ZWO183 MC Pro. So far with the limited time ive actually used the camera i`ve stuck to unity gain 111 and offset 10. I`ve stuck to 180 secs using my TS65 Quad and Skytech L Pro filter.

HTH
Alan
MikeF29 11.33