C8 Edge HD for galaxies and DSO's vs 120 mm apo Generic equipment discussions · Ian Dixon · ... · 31 · 1871 · 0

Kanadalainen 6.10
·  1 like
Hello to all,

I typically use my 70mm apo for astro work - its my only AP scope and I have been gathering images for about 8 months.   I have about 6 months of guiding under my belt, and the rig works fine.

My rig -
Mount:  NEQ6
Camera: Canon 60D and a new 2600MC pro.
Computer: raspberry Pi (ASIair pro)

At this point, galaxy season is coming.  I want to get a scope with more reach for DSOs.  A friend of mine has a c8 edge HD (6 months old) and the dedicated reducer for sale for a good price.  My friend bought a larger scope.

I have no experience using SCTs, I have been a refractor person up to now.

Before this deal came along, I was thinking to buy a 120 mm SW Esprit, but this new offer is literally 40% of the price.   Would the Celestron 8 edge HD be OK for DSOs?  Anyone with experience with the edge HD for galaxies or thoughts on this is appreciated.

Thanks,
Ian
Edited ...
DanJunge 11.44
·  2 likes
Hi Ian.

I don't know how valid my vote is on this matter, since the largest refracter I own is a William Optics GT81, so I don't know what kind of result you would get from the Skywatcher. I do though own the C8 edge HD with the 0.7 reducer, and I've been very happy with what it can do. To me it the ideal scope for galaxies, since it's easy to set up due to the size, but at the same time you can get some really nice details on those galaxies.
The C8 was my entry into the world of AP, so to me it was very important, that it was a rather user friendly telescope. The only mistake I made, was I started out wanting to guide with an OAG. That did not work very well for me due to the small field of view. For a long time I then guided with a Z61, but have now stubbornly moved back to OAG, which now seem to work. (A bit more tricky to find a guide star than on the GT81).