Decent DSLR Lenses under £100.00 for Astro Photography ( just starting out ) Generic equipment discussions · ssteward · ... · 17 · 355 · 0

ssteward 0.00
Hi i'm just starting out and what to try astro photography, I have picked up a 2nd hand Canon EOS 2000D and now need a lens or 2 , As i'm just starting out and money is low at the moment , im looking for recommendation's  of lenses that will work well in my budget that will give me good results, so any help would be grateful

Thank in advance

Steve
andreatax 7.42
·  1 like
I'd suggest the canon's own 50mm f/1.8 which should be easy to find used at less than 100 quid. Alternatively, buy a an adaptor for Nikon/Olympus lens and go for the old manual ones which are more than quite good enough, especially the Nikkor 100mm f/2 or the OM Zuiko 135mm f/2.8, which can be found within that price bracket on eBay. You don't say whether you're tracking or not so I'll assume you don't, in which case 135mm is the longest you can go but 100mm or 50mm would serve you even better.
J21_Jas 0.00
Thank you for the advice, I'm not ssteward, but I'm a beginner with a Canon EOS 2000D as well, and I'll look for these lenses, then.
andreatax 7.42
Correction: Nikon 105mm f/2.5 not 100mm f/2. My bad.
PABresler 0.00
You can get a 500 mm F8 mirror lens which is like a Mini SCT on eBay for about $50
Okhiob 0.00
Those are some good suggestions, but if you don't have a tracking mount I would go for a low focal-length lens. Something around 18-35mm allows you to take untracked pictures up to 20-30 seconds without having too much star trails.
Jelle
cgrobi 4.53
Hi Steve,