should I start with BRESSER REFLEKTOR 203/800 EXOS 2 GOTO Generic equipment discussions · Debarshi Kumar Phukan · ... · 4 · 171 · 0

debarshiphukan 0.00
Hi everyone, I am pretty new in astrophotography. I would like ot buy Bresser Messier NT-203s / 800 EXOS-2 GOTO as my first telescope and mount for the purpose of astrophotography, as it fits into my budget. Do you think it is a good assembly to go with? I would use a Canon 450D.

Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Debarshi
skygazermb 0.00
Hi Debarshi

The 8" Newtonian is probably too heavy for that mount for astrophotgraphy purposes. Keep in mind that you will need to add a small guidescope (you can use the finder scope) or off-axis guider and a guide camera. Also the 800 mm focal length may be a little too much for that mount under that load. You would struggle to get round stars. While it is not impossible be aware that there is no margin left. For that class of mount I would use a 6" Newtonian; both the lower weight and the shorter focal length will make your entry into astrophotography less frustrating.

Also note that you will need a coma corrector or your stars towards the edges will not be pin-point.

Alternatively you could use an 80mm f/5-f/6 refractor, but depending on quality this might be priced above your suggested 8" nextonian. The shorter focal length makes a good match to your camera's pixel size and will be easier to handle (in terms of guiding to get round stars)

So to sum it up: I don't believe the 8" on that mount is the right choice to start into astrophotography.

Cheers
M. B.
churmey 1.51
It's showing the assembly here on their site and at F3.9 it's obviously showing it for imaging:

https://www.bresser.de/en/Astronomy/Telescopes/BRESSER-Messier-NT-203s-800-EXOS-2-EQ5.html